Pashupa’s Yoga

Pashupa with fire logs in fire log pose (agnistambhasana)Namaste. I am Pashupa, a certified Jivamukti Yogateacher. I am also the Web Editor of the website, and a photographer of yogis.

Pashupa is from the Sanskrit “Pashupati“. It means “protector of the animals.” No animals are harmed in my yoga classes.

Jivamukti Yoga, co-founded by Sharon Gannon and David Life, is one of the nine recognized styles of hatha yoga. On the physical level it is a vigorous hatha yoga, vinyasa-based asana practice. As a spiritual practice, Jivamukti Yoga is a a path to enlightenment through compassion for all beings, which adheres to five central tenets:

  • BHAKTI – Cultivation of devotion and humility
  • DHYANA – Meditation, connecting to inner stillness
  • AHIMSA – Causing the least harm possible to all other beings
  • NADA YOGA – Deep listening, chanting, elevated music
  • SHASTRA – Scripture, exploration of the traditional texts of yoga

Each Jivamukti class (except beginner classes) will contain these elements, along with the asana practice (yoga poses). Also important to Jivamukti is the sequencing of asana, and the breath-focused segments of class known as vinyasa krama.

Yoga is a practice to connect us with our divine self. My goal as a teacher is to see you as a holy being, and to help you find bliss in your body, mind, and spirit.

Comments are closed.